top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureproject akbay

Alumni Says Vol. 2 with Ahia Nik Salud



How did you manage your time between extracurricular activities and your SHS work load?

During senior high school, finding the right balance between my academics and extracurriculars was not too easy. On top of my academics, I was part of the badminton varsity, math varsity, science varsity, and was a student leader as the president and junior advisor for Whales in grades 11 and 12 respectively. I mainly managed my time by setting schedules for all of these so that I could devote time for everything. As compared to college, the academic load is a lot less and having more extracurriculars may be more difficult during college.


Would you say extracurriculars are worth investing time in? Do they really matter in college admissions?

I think that high school and senior high school is the best time to invest time into extracurricular activities. Yes, they do matter in college admissions, but as far as I know, the entrance exams and high school grades carry significantly more weight. I don’t think that it is worth it to have extracurriculars solely for college admissions, rather, you should be joining these because you find them interesting and fun.


What college experience shocked you the most after leaving MGCNL?

As a math major, I think that academics-wise, college is a lot harder than high school, and I am forced to allocate a lot more time to studying and preparing for my tests as compared to when I was in high school.


Do you stay in touch with old teachers?

Yes! I am still in touch with some MGC teachers.

1 view0 comments

Komentarze


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page