top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureproject akbay

Want to Study Abroad (SMU) Part 2 with Achi Jaye Yap


What school do you currently attend and what course did you take?

I’m a year 2 undergraduate at Singapore Management University, taking Information Systems!


How did you decide to apply to this university?

I applied to universities abroad because I wanted to explore an environment different from the one I’ve gotten used to in the past 18 years of my life. I chose Singapore because aside from my parents only allowing me as far as this country (HAHA), their education system is quite renowned. The country was also recently ranked among the leading technology hubs of the future, with many international companies setting up offices there. The career opportunities excited me.


SMU stood out because of its dynamic learning pedagogy. Class sizes are smaller, so there is greater opportunity for engaged discussions and consultations with professors. Its Information Systems course, a blend of technology and business, got my attention as well.


If you applied to schools in the Philippines as well, how was the process different?

I applied to ADMU and DLSU. The biggest difference was the paper-based process of Philippine universities, which required us to fill up and submit hard copy documents for our application. We were fortunate that the MGCNLCA Guidance Office helped us out logistically. On the other hand, as an international student applying to SMU and NUS, all submissions were done by us via an online portal. SMU’s had all the requirements in one place, so it was easy to keep track of everything.


Unlike ADMU and DLSU, which released their admission letters all at once, SMU’s interview invites and admission offers came out on a rolling basis. People could get accepted as early as the first few months of the year, or as late as July or August. Rejection letters could come anytime in between. I had to follow up a few times to check on my status, as several of my friends had gotten their application statuses ahead of me.


If I recall correctly, how early or late people receive their acceptance or rejection letter depends on how early they apply, how strong their application is, and/or whether they were waitlisted or not.


Were there any specific courses or exams you had to take aside from your courses in school? If so, how did you prepare for them?

SMU required international applicants to submit their grades for the SAT 1, so I applied through the CollegeBoard website and sat for the exam at British School Manila.


I took the exam in the middle of Grade 11, which I think was a good time because the test’s scope was almost everything we had learned in Grade 10. A lot of concepts were still fresh in my mind. The SAT has 2 parts - English and Math. I prepared for the English section by attending a couple of review classes at first, then just practicing on questions in books and online. For Math, I had a weekly tutor help me refresh and better understand the core concepts that would appear in the exam, based on practice questions as well. CollegeBoard has a few of these and some practice quizzes available on Khan Academy.


Because most, if not all, of the English and Math questions were topics I’d already encountered in JHS B classes, I focused on building up test-taking speed and endurance through multiple practice tests so I wouldn’t find myself running out of time during the actual exam.


What extracurriculars or out of class activities helped you gain competitiveness in your application?

SMU asked for just 3 most significant extra-curricular positions/responsibilities, so I gave them a breakdown of my responsibilities and recognitions as Student Council Vice President (Internal and External), the captain of my out-of-school competitive taekwondo team, and a delegate at several Model United Nations conferences. I think it was the emphasis on leadership roles that helped put me out there.


What might have a bigger impact in your application: high grades, or extracurriculars?


Admissions officers process hundreds of applications, so I think they definitely use grades as one of the first benchmarks to remove those who fall extremely below average. After this stage, though, extracurriculars become key in helping you stand out, as it is with these unique experiences that you can paint a tangible picture of yourself for the admissions officer to understand. Basically, answer the questions: “Okay, you’re smart enough, but what else can you do? Why are you a good fit for us, compared to the hundreds of other decently smart applicants?”


More than just listing grades and extracurriculars though, what’s important is the overall message you convey. You don’t need the highest grades or most “impressive” leadership roles. Use your achievements and experiences to show them (for example) how you’ve grown, what you’ve learned, and what you can uniquely offer – and how all of this means you’d be a great fit and asset for the university.


What other aspects helped you to stand out in your application?


I think my regular follow ups with the Admissions Office might have shown I was really interested in getting in HAHA

What would you suggest to students planning to apply for similar programs in these universities?


If you’re interested in a course that involves technology but don’t have hands-on technical skills just yet, don’t worry. If you still have time to put in the hours, go ahead, as it would help show admissions officers you are interested in the program and have invested time and effort in exploring relevant competencies. However, if you don’t, there are many ways you can use other experiences to prove to them you are someone the university would want as a student. After all, this is not a job application – you’re applying to learn these skills under them.


Don’t be daunted, either, if you aren’t coming from an international school background! Getting in is still definitely possible. Work with what you have and show them why it works.


22 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page