top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureproject akbay

Want to Study Civil Engineering with Ahia Jean Tan



What is the course you are currently taking?

Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering

How was your major different from your expectations?

One thing I learned in my freshman stay is that no man is an island. A civil engineer must be equipped to deal with people due to the fact that we are always working in teams. Our job is to manage construction projects not just in one site, but the entire city most of the time! It's a team effort!

What is the best and worst thing about your course?

Best: Studying about how to make dreams come true. We help what is visualized and try to make it a reality.

Worst: So much manual math. Cannot completely rely on calculators.

What skills from high school did you need to apply the most for this course?

I'd be lying if I mentioned the math and science I learned in MGC did not help. The critical thinking aspect we MGC students cultivated acts as a springboard to prepare us for college. The various STEM subjects gave me an edge in understanding college concepts. More importantly, how I conduct myself in presentations was a big part!

What advice would you give for students planning to take your course?

Never doubt your capabilities, what you have to worry about more is whether you are willing to make the effort or not. Prioritize what you want first because you can only do so much.


11 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page